Eight Hours

Four hours’ travel time with my husband last Friday. Check. Four hours’ travel time with my husband today. Check. Eight hours of near-perfect silence. Priceless.

Don’t get me wrong. My husband and I get along wonderfully. After all, we’ve been married for 41 years. But, when he’s driving, that’s all he’s doing. He is the most dedicated driver I’ve ever seen. (He makes me crazy…) So…

I spent eight hours in the passenger’s seat this weekend sampling “stuff” on my Kindle. I can also access my browser on Kindle; however, I really didn’t have time for that.  I sampled authors, editors, teachers, professors, and so-called experts who I seriously doubt have ever met a child!  I’ve read “dummies” and “idiots” and various other experts who contradicted each other.  I sampled children’s books, child authors (one of them 12 years old!), parents, and psychologists.  And what did I come away with?  (Sorry…With what did I come away?)  In no particular order:

1.  Be patient.  If you want to sell a gazillion copies of your book/series/whatever, you have to know that it isn’t going to happen in the first week.  I mean, really….if they’ve never heard of you and your book is in position 106,342 on Kindle, whatcha gonna do?  Be patient.

2.  Talk about yourself.  Libraries, schools, churches, strangers, Author’s Corner, Twitter, Facebook, WordPress.  I’m even thinking about showing my face in some writers’ societies that actually charge you money to be your friend.  Publicize or die.

3.  Write.  I know, seems too elementary.  I mean, really, seamstresses seam, carpenters carp…wait, that’s not right.  At any rate, the books ain’t gonna write themselves.  You may be inspired in the middle of the night, but that won’t put it down on paper…or monitor, as the case may be.

4.  Have faith.  Last week at this time, I was sure that I would have already sold dozens of books by this week at this time.  (But that might have been the champagne talking…)  I was wrong.  I sold two.  One to my wonderful husband (on whose critique I will expound at a later date), and my son – who is reading it to our one-year-old grandson.  I have had several requests for free hard copies, and I am considering those.  One is to a teacher who uses my Moochie Mockingbird stories (which have been in existence for decades) during “Texas Week” with her first-graders.  Actually, the teacher is my daughter-in-law, mother of the aforementioned one year old, and I will get her a copy of the new improved version.  Anyway, back to the subject.  I have faith that I will sell more books.

I am gratified that I have five followers on Twitter already.  I consider that quite an accomplishment, since I’m just learning to “tweet” and have only a vague idea of what I’m doing.  Perhaps this IS the best way to get my name before the public.

So, eight hours and I’m only impressed by four points.  Actually, that is quite a coup for the “points.”  I’m not easily impressed.  I have come away from all my reading with a new committment to “work” as a writer.  And I’m grateful to my husband for the near-eight hours of quiet in which to study.

Tomorrow, I’m going to speak with the local printer (I have a choice of one (1) printer in our little town), and see how much he’ll charge me for some nice soft-cover hard copies.  (Is that an oxymoron?)  More to follow.  For now, it’s goodnight and good writing.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Marginally Personal, The Business of Writing

Leave a Reply

